Trent Stubbs – 2015 Club Champion

Trent Stubbs - Club Champion Saturday night October 31st saw a packed house enjoy the East Coast Club Champion Night in the Lyceum at the magnificent Castle Hill RSL. Guests watched on enthralled as the vote counts from Premier Division, Under 19’s, Reserve Grade and Third Grade unfolded on the screens along with hundreds of photos from “Around the Club” and all four teams in action during the season.

Australia’s most accomplished corporate comedian Paul Martell entertained the crowd with a side splitting 40 minutes of fabulous humour to top off the night.

Odds on favourite Trent Stubbs won the Peter Physick Medal for B&F in Premier Division to take out his third successive Club Champion Award. The only other player to do this was Clint Austerberry in 2001 – 2003.  Trent won by five provigil pills online votes from Jack Dimery and a further two back to Andrew McConnell in third spot.

Trent also took out the Players’ Player Award and the Goal kicking to follow up his winning of the Stan Milton Trophy at AFL Sydney level.

Trent announced on the night that he is moving to West Adelaide in the SANFL next year and he departs from East Coast with our absolute best wishes for continued success at that level. Thanks Trent for three years of wonderful footy memories.

Full Premier Division award winners were:Trent Stubbs and Peter Physick

  • Best & Fairest                    Trent Stubbs
  • Runner Up                         Jack Dimery
  • Players’ Player                   Trent Stubbs
  • Leading Goalkicker          Trent Stubbs
  • Strong & United                James Ford
  • Most Consistent                Andrew McConnell
  • Best in Finals                     Blake Anderson
  • Rising Star                          Lyndon Hupfeld

In the Under 19’s another close result saw Alexander van Vliet win the newly introduced award of the Trevor Hangan Trophy as the B&F for 2015. He won by five votes from Isaac Heath with James Monks a further eight votes behind.

Full Under 19 award winners were:Alexander van Vliet (middle)

  • Best & Fairest                    Alexander van Vliet
  • Runner Up                         Isaac Heath
  • Coach’s Award                  Sam Berger
  • Best Team Player             Aidan Chapman
  • Most Consistent               James Monks

At Reserve Grade level (Division One) popular skipper Ryan Fitton won the Billy McLeod Medal by FullSizeRender (3) - Copy19 votes from Cameron Arndt and Peter Vlatko.

Full Reserve Grade award winners were:

  • Best & Fairest                   Ryan Fitton
  • Runner Up                        Cameron Arndt
  • Coach’s Award                 Brent Trewin
  • Most Consistent              Jordan McPherson


And in Third Grade (Division Three) Dan O’Connor added his name to the Honour Board when he won his first B&F for the club by just six votes from Anthony Baddock and William Dickinson in the third spot.Jared Patira with goalkicking trophyDan O'Connor B&F Third Grade

Full Third Grade award winners were:

  • Best & Fairest                    Dan O’Connor
  • Runner Up                         Anthony Baddock
  • Leading Goalkicker
    Div 3 AFL Sydney              Jared Patira
  • Coach’s Award                   Nathan Campbell
  • Best Team Player              William Dickinson
  • Players’ Player                   Anthony Baddock    

Rodney Frost and Jon Gawley were inducted as Life Members of the East Coast Eagles AFL Football Club for their extraordinary services rendered over many years.

JG -   Copy

Vesta Homes

Further Club honours were recognised for outstanding volunteer work throughout season 2015.

  • President’s Award                 Richard Lee
  • Club Person of the Year       Paul Meyer
  • Clubman of the Year            Jon Vlatko
  • Volunteer of the Year           Trevor Hangan           FullSizeRender (5)

Click on this link to read the complete 80 page 2015 East Coast Eagles Year Book. 

The evening finished with a video tribute to two players who announced their retirements after a combined 770 games for East Coast and Baulkham Hills before it became the Eagles in 2000.

This tribute to Rodney Frost (362) and Tim Physick (408) can now be viewed online.